The municipality's tasks are defined in the Constitution and the Local Government Act. According to the Constitution, municipalities have local self-government Following the Local Government Act, each municipality has to have a local executive, a chief executive, a local authority audit committee, a professional auditor and a local council elected in municipal elections for a term of four calendar years. The local council exercises the highest power of decision-making.

Pyhäjoki local council has a total of 21 members.

The local executive prepares matters to be decided by the local council and implements the local council decisions. The local education and culture committee and the technical committee decide about matters concerning their own sector.

The administrative regulations govern the administrative and decision-making procedures as well as meeting procedures.

The local administrative organisation: